Author Topic: Divorce/Child Support Advice Needed...  (Read 675 times)

Offline westring

• Subscriber
  • Expat Messenger
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 2
  • I'm new here - please be gentle with me!!
Divorce/Child Support Advice Needed...
« on: 16:24 15-Jan-2018 »
I married a Ukrainian woman in 2009 and we had a daughter in 2010. Unfortunately, our relationship ended even before our daughter was born. I never lived in the Ukraine at any point.

I was a German resident until a few years ago, and I paid her child support according to German rules, which sets out a specific amount to be paid for German residents with children in the Ukraine (adjusted for the difference in the cost of living between both countries). I even paid more than I was supposed to every month, just to help out. This money was always paid in cash as a lump sum for several months when I'd come to visit my daughter.

Last year my wife said she wanted to divorce on my next visit, and said she would set up a lawyer's appointment. However, when I arrived there was no divorce proceeding scheduled, only her lawyer trying to pressure me to pay the amount of child support that I'd have to pay for a German child. Naturally, I didn't agree to this. The lawyer made vague threats, but I knew none of this would be legal in Germany, so I still refused.

Since then, my wife has refused to let me see our daughter. This also means that I haven't been able to pay her any child support, since it was always done in person, in cash. I sent cash a couple times through WU, but she claims it doesn't count.
Because she doesn't have my current address (I now live in a different country), she sent my brother a summons for a court appearance in Kiev in the matter of child support, claiming she has never received any child support from me, ever. She also emailed it to a few of my business clients. She has my email address (not my postal address) but still hasn't sent it to me.