Author Topic: "UKRAINE" or "THE UKRAINE" (SPLIT from Re: Retiring in the Ukraine)  (Read 1675 times)

Offline Packman

• Subscriber
  • I live here
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 348
  • -Receive: 112
  • www.fabbers.com.ua
    • Fabbers Desktop Factories
I'm a lawyer in St. Louis.  I'm thinking of retiring in 2 or 3 years and becoming an expatriate to write my novel.  My inclination is somewhere on the Adriatic Sea.  However, what about on the water somewhere in the Ukraine or is it really, really bad there.  

I'm usually not a pinhead, but Augie please don't call it "The Ukraine"...its simply "Ukraine" calling it "The Ukraine" simply implies its a borderland probably of the Russian empire!

« Last Edit: 08:52 10-Nov-2009 by The Old Man »

Offline David Rochlin

• Subscriber
  • I live here
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1030
  • -Receive: 1340
  • Statue of the Motherland
Re: Retiring in the Ukraine
« Reply #1 on: 20:29 08-Nov-2009 »
I'm a lawyer in St. Louis.  I'm thinking of retiring in 2 or 3 years and becoming an expatriate to write my novel.  My inclination is somewhere on the Adriatic Sea.  However, what about on the water somewhere in the Ukraine or is it really, really bad there. 

I'm usually not a pinhead, but Augie please don't call it "The Ukraine"...its simply "Ukraine" calling it "The Ukraine" simply implies its a borderland probably of the Russian empire!

I have been experimenting with trying to write U.S. without using the word "The" in front of it.  Frankly, it only works sometimes and doesn't sound at all right other times, forcing me  to substitute "America."  I am afraid some geographical names sort of demand the word "The" in front of them at times, in certain sentences and not in others.  The English language makes it sound tortured, otherwise. 

Carlusha

« Reply #2 on: 20:59 08-Nov-2009 »